Teacher of the Year Finalists Named

Teacher of the Year Finalists Named
Posted on 04/01/2022
Teacher of the Year Graphic

It was a surprise, but not an April Fools’ Day surprise when SJSD Foundation committee members and SJSD staff visited the classrooms of three teachers in the district who have been selected as 2022-23 Teacher of the Year finalists. The nominees for Support Person of the Year were also surprised by the notification on April 1. 

The Tribute to Teachers and Staff event, sponsored by the St. Joseph School District Foundation, recognizes teachers, support personnel and volunteers. The purpose is to honor and recognize outstanding employees in the St. Joseph School District for their hard work, excellence, dedication, and commitment to education.

Thirty-two teachers from across the district were nominated. Anyone in the district can nominate a SJSD staff member for one of the four categories. Last year’s SJSD Teacher of the Year, Colin Pettegrew, mathematics teacher at Robidoux Middle School, shared the ‘good news’ with the finalists.

Teacher of the Year Finalists:
Kellie Shelley – Edison Elementary – ESOL Teacher (K-6)
Denise Peters – Skaith Elementary – 2nd Grade Teacher
Kaleb Johnson – Hyde Elementary – 5th Grade Teacher

A group including last year's Support Person of the Year, Natalie Adkins, made their way through the district sharing the announcement with this year's finalists. A total of 20 nominations were submitted for Support Person.

Support Person of the Year Finalists:
Casey Arambula - Pickett Elementary - School Counselor
James Beesley - Central High - JROTC
Amy Wyrick - Administration Building, Student Services - Admin Assistant

Innovator of the Year Finalists:
Melissa and Annie Ray - Robidoux Middle
Angela Hernandez - Edison

Those interested in participating in the program submit an application to a committee and three finalists are selected. Those finalists participate in a final interview and a winner is selected. 

The Teacher of the Year, Support Person of the Year, the Innovator of the Year, and the Volunteer of the Year recipients will be honored at the annual SJSD Foundation’s Tribute to Teachers and Staff Banquet on April 14, 2022 at Missouri Western State University.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.