Mark Korell Advances to State Teacher of the Year Competition

Mark Korell Advances to State Teacher of the Year Competition

The St. Joseph School District's 2018 - 2019 Teacher of the Year Mark Korell will represent Northwest Missouri for the state Teacher of the Year award, alongside two other Northwest Missouri Teachers, Denise Henggeler of Northwest Nodaway and Sandra Wood of Maryville.

Each year, the St. Joseph School District Foundation selects an SJSD Teacher of the Year from dozens of applications. Teachers can be nominated by parents, students, community members or SJSD staff. The Teacher of the Year is announced at the annual Tribute to Teachers and Staff banquet each spring, and then serve as the Teacher of the Year for the entire school year. During that time, they represent the district in the community and participate in choosing the next teacher of the year.

It is an honor to advance to the state level of the Teacher of the Year awards. A teacher who is selected must be a highly effective teacher, a teacher leader and a collaborative partner. This means that the teacher is effective at the classroom level, but also passes that knowledge to other teachers and staff and contribute his or her talents throughout the school and community.

Learn more about Mark Korell in the video below, created for the 2018 Tribute to Teachers.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.